Western Undergraduate Exchange

Arizona's participation in the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE) Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE) provides the opportunity for students to attend a public college (at the undergraduate level) outside Arizona at a reduced level of tuition (150% of the host institution's resident tuition). The WICHE member states are Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington and Wyoming.

Interested applicants should check the WICHE website to search participating institutions by program of study. Students who are seriously considering a public out-of-state school are encouraged to check the WICHE website to see if their school and program of choice is available at the WUE rate. 

terested applicants should contact the institution of choice and indicate that they would like to apply as a Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE) applicant. There is not a separate WUE application.

WUE is a decentralized program which means the applicant applies directly to the college of choice. The WICHE Regional Office and/or the participating WICHE states are not involved in the admission process. However, if students have generic questions, they may contact the WICHE Regional Office in Boulder, Colorado at 303-541-0210 or the Arizona Board of Regents WICHE Certifying Office at 602-229-2500. The most current information is always available at the WICHE website at wiche.edu/wue/students.


  • Students who are residents of WICHE states are eligible to request a reduced tuition rate of 150% of resident tuition at participating two- and four-year college programs outside of their home state.
  • The WUE reduced tuition rate is not automatically awarded to all eligible candidates. Many institutions limit the number of new WUE awards each academic year, so apply early!
  • WICHE members include: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.

~ 6036 South 27th Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85041 | 602-268-8686 | info@ALAcoyotes.org